Lagos Must Fulfil Its Potential – Ambode

Lagos  needs dedicated and committed people to fulfil its potential, Governor Akinwunmi Ambode said yesterday.

He spoke at the Adeyemi Bero Auditorium in Alausa, Ikeja, where he swore in 37 executive council (exco) members.

Ambode told the appointees that their primary allegiance should be to the people, irrespective of creed and colour.

Urging them to be dedicated, the governor said the state was experiencing rapid urbanisation and as such requires fast solutions to develop befitting infrastructure to cater for the increasing population.

He said: “My colleagues, Lagos is on the brink of greatness and you have all been given this platform to write your names in gold. You must work to leave a legacy that will be spoken of in glowing terms in years to come.

“As the most promising city state in Africa, Lagos has all the ingredients to compete globally in all sectors.

“The challenges that come with the boisterous profile of the state as one of the world’s fastest growing cosmopolitan city-states are as many as the opportunities that abound in it.

“Lagos is a magnet for many Nigerians who want to pursue the Nigerian dream. The dream that wherever you are from, regardless of tribe or creed, you can achieve what you wish, this is the Lagos dream.

“Lagosians rely on land transportation system, which has inevitably put pressure on road networks and traffic situation. I urge you to develop ingenious means of transporting residents across the state.

“You are to implement decisions that will combat crimes and secure our people. Lagosians call on you to create job opportunities for our youths and attract investments into the state,” he said.

“Our decisions have stabilised the financial economy of the state, despite inherited financial liabilities. We have vastly reduced the cost of governance without bail-outs from the Federal Government and our reforms will be continuous,” he said.

The commissioners and their portfolios are Gbolahan Lawal (Housing); Jide Idris (Health); Folarin Coker (Tourism, Arts and Culture); Seye Oladejo (Special Duties and Intergovernmental Relations); Ganiyu Johnson (Works and Infrastructure); Oluwatoyin Suarau (Agriculture); Rotimi Ogunleye (Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives); Akinyemi Ashade( Economic Planning and Budget); Babatunde Adejare (Environment); Olawale Oluwo (Energy and Mineral Resources); Benson Akintola (Establishment, Training and Pensions); Mustapha Akinkunmi (Finance) and Abdul-Hakeem Abdul-Lateef (Home Affairs).

Others are Steve Ayorinde (Information and Strategy); Adeniji Kazeem (Justice); Musiliu Folami(Local Government and Community Affairs); Wasiu Anifowoshe (Physical Planning and Urban Development); Olufemi Odubiyi (Science and Technology); Ekundayo Mobereola (Transportation); Adebowale Akinsanya (Waterfront Infrastructure Development); Babatunde Durosinmi-Etti (Wealth Creation and Employment); Mrs. Lola Akande (Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation) and Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf (Youth and Social Development).

The Special Advisers and their portfolios are Ayodeji Tinubu (Sports and Chairman Lagos State Sports Council); Ganiu Okanlomo Sanni (Food Security); Mrs. Yetunde Onabolu (Urban Development); Kehinde Joseph (Civic Engagement);  Adebimpe Akinsola ( Arts and Culture); Olufemi Onanuga (Primary Healthcare); Obafela Bank-Olemoh(Education); Adeyemi Olabinjo (Commerce); Anofi Elegushi( Transport); Babatunde Hunpe (Environment); Prof Ademola Abass (Overseas Affairs and Investment); Mrs. Aramide Giwanson (Housing); Kehinde Bamigbetan (Community and Communications) and Agboola Dabiri (Central Business District).

In line with tradition, Deputy Governor Oluranti Adebule was assigned to oversee the Ministry of Education.

In attendance were former Military Governor Brig-Gen Mobolaji Johnson; first civilian Governor of Lagos State Alhaji Lateef Jakande; Oba of Lagos, Rilwan Akiolu I, Lagos Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Otunba Henry Ajomale; Senator Oluremi Tinubu (Lagos Central); Senator Solomon Olamilekan (Lagos West); Senator Olugbenga Ashafa (Lagos East); Senator Ganiyu Solomon, members of the House of Assembly, permanent secretaries, government officials, traditional rulers and clerics, among others.


Gbolahan Lawal                               Housing

Jide Idris                                              Health

Folarin Coker                                     Tourism, Arts and Culture

Seye Oladejo                                     Special Duties and Intergovernmental Relations

Ganiyu Johnson                                Works and Infrastructure

Oluwatoyin Suarau                         Agriculture

Rotimi Ogunleye                              Commerce, Industry and Cooperatives

Akinyemi Ashade                            Economic Planning and Budget

Babatunde Adejare                         Environment

Olawale Oluwo                                Energy and Mineral Resources

Benson Akintola                               Establishment, Training and Pensions

Mustapha Akinkunmi                   Finance

Abdul-Hakeem Abdul-Lateef     Home Affairs

Steve Ayorinde                                 Information and Strategy

Adeniji Kazeem                               Justice

Musiliu Folami                                  Local Government and Community Affairs

Wasiu Anifowoshe                          Physical Planning and Urban Development

Olufemi Odubiyi                             Science and Technology

Ekundayo Mobereola                     Transportation

Adebowale Akinsanya                  Waterfront Infrastructure Development

Babatunde Durosinmi-Etti           Wealth Creation and Employment

Mrs. Lola Akande                            Women Affairs and Poverty Alleviation

Mrs. Uzamat Akinbile-Yusuf      Youth and Social Development

SPECIAL ADVISERS                              PORTFOLIOS

Ayodeji Tinubu                                Sports and Chairman Lagos State Sports Council

Ganiu Okanlomo Sanni                Food Security

Mrs. Yetunde Onabolu                  Urban Development

Kehinde Joseph                                Civic Engagement

Adebimpe Akinsola                        Arts and Culture

Olufemi Onanuga                           Primary Healthcare

Obafela Bank-Olemoh                  Education

Adeyemi Olabinjo                           Commerce

Anofi Elegushi                                  Transport

Babatunde Hunpe                           Environment

Prof Ademola Abass                       Overseas Affairs and Investment

Mrs. Aramide Giwanson               Housing

Kehinde Bamigbetan                     Community and Communications

Agboola Dabiri                               Central Business District



Source: The Nation Nigeria




Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x